Hungarian National Museum

My parents have been always on the edge of accepting my interests and quirks. They were supportive (emotionally and financially) through two theatre degrees and while I think they might have been happier if I’d pursued other avenues of study, they’ve always been there for me. When I joined the SCA, I think they were resigned to the fact that I was starting in on yet another hobby where I could justify my ‘hoarding’ of crafting materials.

All of that being said: They recently took a trip to Hungary. They asked if I would be interested in anything ‘historical’ there and I immediately suggested a trip to the Hungarian National Museum to see the Dress of Queen Mary of Hapsburg. Mom thought this was a great idea, and Dad was kind enough to document it as much as he could! As such, I’d like to share some wonderful photos as provided by my patient and loving parents.

Click on the thumbnail and you should be taken to a larger image!

Needless to say I’m pretty psyched by all of this. The belt plaques I think are my favourite piece that Dad photographed, but everything is so amazing, I wish I could have been there to see it in person! I’m debating using something here as an idea to inspire me for one of my Pentathalon or QPT entries.

Leave a comment